Dept. of Mass Communication and Journalism
History of the Department

Department of Mass Communication and Journalism, Rajshahi University is in its 25th year as an institution of higher learning focused on student-centered education in the fields of media, communication, journalism, culture and society.
In Bangladesh, Journalism study started its journey at Dhaka University in 1962 naming “Mass Communication and Journalism Department”. Now in seven public universities namely Dhaka University, Rajshahi University, Chittagong University, Jagannath University, Rangpur Begum Rokeya University, Comilla University and Jahangir Nagar University and in seven of the private universities there are journalism departments in various names.
University of Rajshahi opened its doors in 1992 for mass communication and journalism education establishing the ‘Department of Mass Communication’ under the faculty of Social Science with a single professor, Dr. Jahangir Kabir as the founder Chairman. The four courses comprising the first year syllabus were Language for Mass Communication, Basic Concepts of Communication, Contemporary National Affairs and Contemporary Regional Affairs and the number of enrolling students of the department were 34.
The department was located at a small room beside the Teachers’ Lounge of Mamtaz Uddin Kala Bhaban and also shifted to Shahidullah Kala Bhaban without any reserved classroom until moving into Rabindra Kala Bhaban in 1995.
Since then the department has undergone significant growth and change, yet still remains committed to preparing students for personal and professional success, as well as civic engagement, throughout their lives after graduation.
The department’s first Honours degree was awarded in 1997 (examination was held in 1996, but scheduled for 1994) and Masters degree was awarded in 1999 (examination was held in 1998, but scheduled for 1995). From its early years, alumni of this department are making national impacts, with graduates serving almost all the national news media, Govt. offices and national-international development organizations all across the country.
In 2007, name of the department was changed as “Mass Communication and Journalism”. And even though so much has been changed over the last 25 years; the department continues to uphold the values started with: wisdom, virtue and friendship.